The End?

1. Before: Effervescent. Ebullient. Charmed! Not even the tiniest things caused alarm.

When skies had gone grey and the winds raged about,

My happiness wasn’t a thing I would doubt.
2. My heart sang of love, my mouth brought forth laughter…

If only I’d known these would change in the After.

The Demons are strong and their senses are sharp;

They took hold of my mind and they tore it apart.

3. Grotesque susurration encompassed my mind

In my moment of weakness when I had gone blind

To the truth of my somnolent, desultory sigh;

I murmured inside, “I will most surely die.”

4. Shattered in pieces, my hope was in vain;

Even with sunshine, my days filled with rain.

I tried to smile though I felt I was dead;

It distorted my face in a grimace instead.

5. Like a cold, starving leech, I clung to my sins

Wondering when and if healing would ever begin. 

The now cynical verses that once charmed my mind

Took off with my smile and left me behind.

6. The end of my life rests atop a high cliff,

Where I’ll choose to jump or I’ll choose to live.

No longer will I leave my fate to the wind;

My sadness knows when my white wings will spread.

7. So don’t come after me, Darling, I’m already gone;

I’ve vanished into the crepuscular dawn.

The lilt of my symphony,

My halcyon soul,

Exists on the face of this earth no more.

Leave a comment